Skip to content

About Us


Since 1996

The UW Student Technology Fee (STF) was created by the Washington State Legislature [RCW 28B.15.051] and the UW Board of Regents in 1996 to provide for and enhance technology resources for students beyond the classroom environment. The STF is student-levied and student-distributed, generating over $4 million in annual revenue which is paid out to over 100 students and departments each year. The STF is used to fund a variety of technology needs, some being one-off proposals and others being regular and renewable “Block” requests. Recent requests have included a Smart Board for the Department of Economics, automated sanitization stations for the Department of Chemical Engineering, and equipment for a Mars Rover built by Husky Robotics. Other departments, including UW Libraries, STLP, The Daily, and UW-IT receive Block Funding totaling over $1 million annually. The STF Committee is composed of representatives selected by the Associated Students of the University of Washington (ASUW) and the Graduate and Professional Student Senate (GPSS). These representatives, or Committee members, are responsible for reviewing proposals, debating their merits, and rendering a decision. The Committee is also supported by several student and professional staff members who conduct day-to-day operations, fiscal oversight, and auditing services.

Latest Updates Icon

Read our latest updates

Check out the latest news from the Student Technology Fee and stay up to date regarding important announcements such as the quarterly Call for Proposals and information about proposals and awards.

Public Records Icon

Find our public records here

Check out what we’re up to and learn more about the STF’s inner workings by checking out our public records. We publish meeting agendas and minutes, governing policies, and other useful information for public access.


Representing you

The Student Technology Fee Committee provides general oversight of the STF and is responsible for hearing, debating, and voting on proposals. The Committee is composed of student representatives appointed by UW’s two student governments: ASUW and GPSS. The Committee also includes non-voting members from various departments across campus who provide the Committee with context, advice, and support.

Ex-Officio Members

  • Adam Serafin, STF Advisor / Student Life Representative

  • Trevor Hunt, Director of Operations

  • Ujjwal Chauhan, Proposal Manager

  • Zohar Le, Communications and Outreach Manager

  • Timothy Billing, ASUW President

  • A.J. Balatico, GPSS President

  • Ellen Kesselman, HUB Fiscal Specialist

  • Aimee Hirahara, UW Libraries

  • Jeremy Caci, Undergraduate Academic Advising

  • Tom Lewis, UW-IT

  • Bill Schaefer, UW-IT

  • Virgil Gloria, Graduate School

ASUW Representitives

  • Lucas Wang, Chair

  • Mitchell Klein, ASUW Finance and Budget Director

  • Mark Pock, ASUW Senate Liaison

  • Boe Zhou, ASUW At-Large Representative

  • Teerth Mehta, ASUW At-Large Representative

GPSS Representatives

  • Van Mai, GPSS Vice President of Finance and Budget

  • Maleen Kidiwela, GPSS Executive Senator

  • Charles Bugre, GPSS Executive Senator

  • Kaley Wypyszynski, GPSS Senator

Attend a Meeting Icon

Attend a meeting

Committee meetings are open to the public as required by the Open Public Meetings Act. Members of the public are welcome to attend in-person or virtually and provide public comment.


Get to know us

The day-to-day administration of the Student Technology Fee is managed by a team of student staff. In addition to overseeing daily operations, our team provides close support to the Committee and facilitates the proposal process. Our team is always available to answer your questions and guide you through the proposal process.

Keep reading to learn more about our staff and how to get in touch.


Mark Pock is a third-year undergraduate student studying computer science and philosophy. This technology-society intersection is deeply meaningful to him and he hopes to use STF as a vehicle to explore it further. He first joined the STF last year as a committee member representing the ASUW Senate, and has since become Chair. As Chair, Mark is responsible for the STF as a whole and works with staff and committee members to realize STF’s mission. In his free time, Mark is an amateur composer of classical music.

Mark Pock

Committee Chair


Anushka is on an exciting journey, pursuing her passion for business solutions and technology in the MS in Information Systems program at the Foster School of Business. With a background in Computer Science Engineering, she brings the understanding of emerging trends and over 2.5 years of professional IT experience to the table.When she’s not busy conquering tech challenges, you can find Anushka indulging in adventure sports, sketching , or immersing herself in the captivating world of Anime.

Anushka Soni

Director of Operations


Devesh is currently pursuing his graduate studies in the field of Information Systems at the Foster School of Business. With a solid foundation in Computer Science and a four-year tenure as a Tech Consultant, he specializes in leveraging cloud technologies to enhance data analytics and drive business excellence. Beyond the realms of academia and professional pursuits, Devesh is a passionate Arsenal supporter, reflecting his team loyalty and enthusiasm for soccer. He finds balance and inspiration in exploring nature, engaging in photography, and diving into the expansive worlds of Sci-Fi literature.

Devesh Khurana

Award Specialist


Neha is a second year undergraduate student in the college of engineering at UW. In addition to the STF, she is a member of HuskyADAPT, where she works with her team to design and create accessible play technology. As Proposal Specialist, Neha oversees proposal-related procedures and supports applicants during the proposal process. In her free time, she enjoys hiking and learning new languages.

Neha Arunkumar

Proposal Specialist


Sushmidha is a first-year graduate student in the HCDE department at UW. She graduated with her Bachelors in Architecture in 2019 from Anna University in India. She has been working as a UX Designer for the past 5 years and has designed a number of websites and worked on strategic portals and applications in healthcare and Fin-Tech. Sushmidha is responsible for STF’s external communication and marketing. Sushmidha loves traveling and enjoys the company of nature and mountains.

Sushmidha Jawahar

Marketing and Communication Specialist

Get in Touch


Learn about the Student Technology Fee and the proposal process by attending a Workshop led by our staff and receive 1:1 support with your proposal.


Contact Us

Phone: 206-543-2975
Office: Husky Union Building 305B

Book an Appointment

Stay Connected